Martin Taal's Blog

About EMF, Teneo, CDO, Texo, Hibernate, Open-Source ERP and other topics

EMFT Texo: EMF – RCP persistence using Texo generated JPA entities

with 6 comments

Hi!

After working on Texo JSON Rest, the next step for me has been to implement an EMF Resource which persists its data using JPA annotated entities in a standard ORM.

This makes it possible to use Texo in a RCP environment with an EMF generated front-end and a Texo generated JPA backend.

The first implementation of the TexoResource supports a 2-tier architecture: the JPA TexoResource communicates directly with the database through the JPA/ORM layer.

EMF RCP - Texo - 2-tier architecture

My next step will be to implement a Texo JSON Resource which communicates using JSON with a server running Texo. The server side of this 3 tier architecture is already done: the Texo JSON web service layer. For an example project running Texo in Tomcat/web container check out this wiki page or see this video.

For this new development I am developing EMF JSON converters, these could be useful also in other solutions, you can find the relevant plugin here in git.

I am cooperating with others to develop an example RCP using Texo. My goal is to provide more example projects. If you are interested in cooperating on this, ping me on the Texo forum.

Thanks for reading and I hope this blog post helps to give Texo a try. Visit the Texo wiki for more information. Let me know if you have any questions or remarks on the EMFT newsgroup or forum!

gr. Martin

Written by martintaal

May 9, 2012 at 8:38 am

Posted in Texo

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] supporting a 2-tier architecture it is now time to make the step to a full 3-tier application architecture for EMF [...]

  2. Hi Martin, What would it take expose CDO Objects as JSON data which can be retrieved with Rest, SOAP or other HTTP carried XML formats?

    Christophe Bouhier

    January 10, 2013 at 8:16 am

  3. Hello, I read your blog and I found interesting and has helped me to understand about TEXO.

    I downloaded the example from github link …
    https://github.com/mtaal/texo/tree/master/org.eclipse.emf.texo.example1.rcp

    but I really do not know much texo operation, the settings as required and the texoResource PLS.

    would be helpful if you had a tutorial which will make it easy for me to develop a rcp application to connect to the database where the model have been developed ah travez TEXO emf and I think a buea option.

    thanks for the attention given.

    oscar salazar

    December 16, 2013 at 10:17 pm

    • Hi Oscar,
      I am afraid the example1.rcp never got really finished and it is not a good example. What you can do first is develop a RCP using EMF and EMF resources. Then instead of the standard EMF resources use a texo resource:
      http://wiki.eclipse.org/Texo/EMFResource
      I am afraid that I can’t help in much detail as I am myself more into web apps then rcps. But for sure it is clearly possible and usefull to create a rcp using Texo, others have also done that. It is best if you can post subsequent questions on the newsgroup also for others to see.

      gr. Martin

      martintaal

      December 17, 2013 at 12:07 am

      • hello

        thank you very much for your response .. case of the other people consult dijistes com.

        Thank you.

        oscar salazar

        December 18, 2013 at 5:46 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

